I visited Kolkata after 2 years. And prior to that, had visited Kolkata after a gap of 10 years. I had 2 reasons to visit this time – my grandpa had passed away a few months ago, so needed to meet relatives and secondly, Durga Puja. Quintessentially, an all-Bong affair.

Besides meeting far-flung relatives, meeting lots of dusky Bong beauties all dressed up in their best sarees, its also definitely a festival of fun, mithai, and lights. The bad thing however is – all my dieting goes for a toss! Can’t help myself eating the wonderful rasogollas and mithais. Anyways, the only thing missing was my fiancee; hopefully can bring her to see Durga Pujas next year!

Here’s some photos. Apologies for the pic quality – they are taken on my iPhone 3GS. Some of the photos are in South Kolkata, where my ancestral house is. It was built by my grandfather, Late Raibahadur Sailendra Nath Ghosh. Originally zamindars of Khulna Division in current Bangladesh, my grandfather received the title Raibahadur from the British. Raibahadur is the equivalent of the current OBE (Order of the British Empire). The rest photos are from ashram in Deoghar District in Jharkhand (previously used to be in the state of Bihar) where we spend our Durga Pujas since our childhood days.

Till next year, au revoir!

About sghoshoxon

Born in India, educated in Moscow, worked in the UK; Subhasish speaks English, Russian, Hindi & Bengali. Marketing // Strategy // Consulting, Active Blogger, Social Media Evangelist, Apple fan; Thanks to all for reading my blog posts, with 'FewRandomRantings.Wordpress.com' reaching 74,000+ visits since inception. Follow me @nerdometer.

One response »

  1. […] Ritchie passed away. Apple iPhone 4S – the most advanced smartphone in the world was born. Durga Puja & Diwali was celebrated across India with all pomp and grandeur one can think of. And Sprinklr […]

Leave a Reply

